Aurora West College Preparatory Academy is fortunate to have a great team to support our efforts with family and community outreach. Our team works with parents, teachers and administrators to support students and their families in setting goals, planning strategies and arranging resources to help students be successful in school, at home, and in their environment. Among the many services that the family and community outreach team offers to AWCPA families are:

  • Welcoming families to AWCPA and helping them feel at home.
  • Building a sense of community among students, parents, teachers and administrators.
  • Advocating for AWCPA families to insure that their needs are met.
  • Coordinating parent classes, parent coffees, family nights, and the Accountability Committee.
  • Doing outreach for AWCPA families through home visits and phone calls.
  • Providing interpreters for parent conferences and family meetings.
  • Providing resources for families and students including clothing, food, school supplies and information on low or no cost doctor visits.

High School Counseling Page

To access the high school counseling page, please click here.

Middle School Counseling Page

To access the middle school counseling page, please click here.

Counseling Staff

Name Position Email
Kelly Batt 6th Grade kdbatt@aurorak12.org
Ashley Phillips 7th Grade aphillips@aurorak12.org
Jordann Lewis 8th Grade jmlewis@aurorak12.org
Courtney Dauer 9-12th Grade cadauer@aurorak12.org
Andrea Tabb Psychologist artabb@aurorak12.org
Morgan Norwood Community Coordinator mpnorwood@aurorak12.org
Lexi Thomas Family Liaison lthomas@aurorak12.org
Lauren Chamberlain School Social Worker lechamberlain@aurorak12.org

 

High School Counseling Page

To access the high school counseling page, please click here.

Middle School Counseling Page

To access the middle school counseling page, please click here.

Volunteering at AWCPA

Parents are partners in their student’s education. There are many opportunities for you to become an active volunteer at AWCPA. You might choose to assist with chaperoning field trips, being a safety crossing guard, working in the Media Center, and much more. Research shows that students whose parents are involved in their child's education are more likely to earn higher grades, pass their classes, attend school regularly, graduate from high school, and go on to attain a post-secondary education. If you are interested in volunteering, or if you have any questions in regards to family and community outreach, please contact the school at 303–366–2671.

 

Links

College In Colorado
Naviance
Aurora Mental Heath